Over 150 progressive leaders at the Grupo Puebla Summit

Consolidated as one of the most prominent political spaces in recent times and an important voice from this region, the Progressive Alliance, to which two current and 12 former presidents belong, will hold the summit from November 29 to December 1 on Aztec land.

According to the organizers of the meeting, the meeting will take place in the upcoming days for the election of Honduras and the second presidential round of Chile, and one of the most important moments will be the presentation of a progressive agenda that takes into account the need for a solidarity model of development. .

Founded three years ago in the Mexican city that gave it its name, the group gained momentum and above all was the protagonist in crucial moments such as the role of many of its members so that former Bolivian President Evo Morales could leave his country alive after the coup.

At its seventh meeting, the Alliance will discuss, with the Ibero-American Parliamentary Group and the Latin American Council for Justice and Democracy (CLAGOD), the urgent needs facing Latin America, the Caribbean, Europe and the world.

During the meeting they will delve into the model of solidarity with social and multilateral justice, in the deepening and consolidation of democracies in the region, lands free of political oppression and judicial wars and full respect for the self-determination of peoples.

The group includes among its ranks the President of Argentina, Alberto Fernandez (one of its founders) and Luis Ars, the President of Bolivia.

In addition, experts note, he was a proactive and proactive actor in the defense of human rights, bringing together the will of great leaders to think and act in accordance with the new international community, and pressing challenges in matters such as climate change. Inequality, famine, economic, social and political crisis.

See also  Polls continue to confirm Lula's advantage in Brazilians' intention to vote

Its former members include conservatives Luis Inacio Lula da Silva, Dilma Rousseff (Brazil), Ernesto Samper (Colombia), Jose Luis Rodríguez Zapatero (Spain), Rafael Correa (Ecuador), Manuel Zelaya (Honduras), Martin Torrijos (Panama) and Jose Mujica (Uruguay), others.

rgh / may

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.