Institute of Forensic Sciences receives prestigious “Foresight Maximus 2023” award • WIPR

This is the first time in its history that FIFA has received this distinction

The Institute of Forensic Sciences (ICF) has received the Foresight Maximus Award from the American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors (ASCLD), announced ICF Executive Director Dr. Maria Conti-Miller.

“We proudly receive this highest honor that underscores the operational and administrative transformation the Forensic Science Institute has undergone in the past three years. This is an unprecedented accomplishment that recognizes our efforts and commitment to compliance, quality and continuous improvement of all our processes in the service of truth and justice,” said Conti-Miller.

The Institute of Forensic Sciences (ICF) has received the Foresight Maximus Award from the American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors (ASCLD), announced ICF Executive Director Dr. Maria Conti-Miller.

The 2023 Foresight Maximus Award was awarded to 16 participating laboratories operating at 90 percent or more of maximum efficiency during 2022-2023. There were 211 offers. This is the first time that the Institute of Forensic Sciences has submitted its report to the program for evaluation, leading to it receiving an award from the prestigious programme.

“ICF provided its operational statistics and metrics as well as details of the financial resources allocated for compliance,” Conte Miller explained. “The assessment conducted and the result issued by ASCLD is another guarantee of the efficiency achieved and good use of the resources allocated to our agency.”

“The technical and operational expertise and competence, through timely and rapid analysis of evidence, interpretation and conclusion of reports, have had a significant impact on investigations and the delivery of justice in multiple cases,” he said. “Our institute continues to raise the level of forensic science in Puerto Rico, for the benefit of the legal community and the people who We serve them.”

See also  Chilean astronomer Laura Perez receives an award from the World Academy of Sciences: “It was a surprise” | Technique

“The 2023 Foresight Maximus Award winners did not simply stand out; “They have anticipated, adapted and exceeded expectations in a challenging and ever-evolving world,” said Timothy Kupferschmid, ASCLD President.

“These 16 laboratories are beacons of innovation and efficiency, representing the best in forensic science laboratories. Congratulations to each winner for their outstanding achievements and unwavering dedication to the pursuit of scientific truth.”

About the Foresight Program

The Foresight Program began in 2009 in an agreement of understanding between ASCLD with the West Virginia University (WVU) College of Business and Economics and the National Institute of Justice as a self-assessment for forensic science laboratories. It has since expanded and now includes forensic laboratories around the world.

The program provides assistance, guidance, and analysis, standardizing metric definitions to evaluate work processes and linking each laboratory’s financial information to job tasks and functions, leading to improvements in laboratory efficiency and funding for the supplementary program’s continuity. Because of its success, ASCLD began to recognize high-performing laboratories.

2023 Foresight Award Winners

  • Bexar County Criminal Investigation Laboratory, San Antonio, Texas
  • Forensic Services Section of the Chandler Police Department, Chandler, Arizona
  • Greensboro, North Carolina Police Department, Greensboro, North Carolina
  • Tulsa Police Department Forensic Laboratory, Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Denver Police Department Crime Lab, Denver, CO
  • Judicial Investigation Agency, San Joaquin de Flores, Heredia, Costa Rica
  • Indiana State Department of Toxicology, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Institute of Environmental Science and Research Limited (ESR), Auckland, New Zealand
  • Institute of Forensic Sciences of Puerto Rico, San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Iowa DCI Crime Laboratory, Ankeny, Iowa
  • Marshall University Forensic Science Center, Huntington, West Virginia
  • Midwest Regional Forensic Laboratory, Andover, Minnesota
  • Montana Department of Forensic Sciences, Missoula, Montana
  • North Louisiana Forensic Laboratory, Shreveport, LA
  • Pinellas County Forensic Laboratory, Largo, Florida
  • Wyoming State Crime Laboratory, Cheyenne, WY

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *