The United States, Canada, the European Union and the United Kingdom have imposed sanctions on Belarus

(CNN) – The governments of the United States, Canada, the European Union and the United Kingdom imposed sanctions on Belarus on Monday in response to the arrests of journalists Roman Protacevic and Sofia Sabiga, following the emergency landing of a Ryanair plane, and in the face of the country’s “ongoing suppression of democracy and human rights.”

at joint announcement The two governments, issued on Monday, said they were “united in our deep concern about the continued attacks by the Lukashenko regime on human rights and fundamental freedoms and international law.”

“We are committed to supporting the long-suppressed democratic aspirations of the people of Belarus, and we stand united to impose costs on the regime for its blatant disregard of international obligations,” the statement read.

We are united in calling on the regime to end its oppressive practices against its own people. “We are disappointed that the regime has chosen to depart from its human rights obligations, its commitment to democratic principles and its commitment to the international community,” the joint statement said.

Belarusian President Alexander Lukashenko is sworn in in Minsk in 2020.

We are also united in our call to the Lukashenko regime to cooperate fully with the international investigations into the events of May 23. Immediate release of all political prisoners; Implementation of all recommendations of the mission of independent experts under the Moscow Mechanism of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE); and participation in an inclusive and genuine political dialogue between the authorities and representatives of the democratic opposition and civil society, facilitated by the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe.”

See also  Paralympic Games | Garca and Morez's dream shattered

“strong signal”

at official speech, The UK added that the joint sanctions affect seven people and one entity of the Belarusian government, in response to the arrest of journalist Roman Protacevic and Sofia Sabiga after the “unlawful diversion” of Ryanair flight FR4978 in May 2021.

This measure also affects four people and one entity in response to the “continued suppression of democracy and human rights” in Belarus by Lukashenko and his government.

“The sanctions send a strong signal to the Belarusian authorities that the UK will not tolerate the suppression of human rights who come to the UK or use our financial institutions,” the statement said.

The US government said it has taken punitive action against dozens of Belarusian officials and entities in response to the Ryanair crash, the “politically motivated arrest” of a journalist and his partner, and the “ongoing repression in Belarus, including in Belarus,” US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken said in a statement on Monday. That “human rights, democratic processes and fundamental freedoms.”

Anthony Blinken, United States Secretary of State. (Image source: OLIVIER HOSLET/POOL/AFP via Getty Images)

Blinken said the State Department has imposed visa restrictions on 46 officials “for their involvement in weakening or damaging institutions in Belarus, generally making these individuals ineligible to enter the United States.”

coordinated actions

«These persons occupy key positions in the Presidential Administration, the State Security Committee of the Republic of Belarus, the Ministry of the Interior, the Investigation Committee, the Ministry of Information, the Ministry of Sports and Tourism, the State Border Committee, the Ministry. Health, the Constitutional Court, the Prosecutor’s Office and the Minsk Region Courts”.

See also  The UK wants Medvedev to show he does not support Putin so he can play at Wimbledon

Blinken said the Treasury sanctioned another 16 individuals and five entities, noting that “the persons appointed today have harmed the people of Belarus through their activities after the fraudulent presidential elections of August 9, 2020 and the subsequent repression. The brutality of protesters, journalists, political opposition or support for the repressive policies of Alexander Lukashenko inside Belarus and outside it.”

“These actions, coordinated with Canada, the European Union and the United Kingdom, are intended to promote accountability for the Lukashenko regime’s transnational repression and its affront to international norms,” ​​Blinken said.

A source told CNN, that the Biden government tried to announce these sanctions during President Joe Biden’s first international trip, before he met with Russian President Vladimir Putin, but the European Union was unable to coordinate with this schedule, and the United States decided to wait and work alongside your allies. .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *