The Russian Foreign Ministry imposes sanctions on 398 members of the US Congress

Moscow: The Russian Foreign Ministry reported that Russia has permanently banned entry to 398 members of the US House of Representatives, as of today.

According to a statement published last night, the measure responds to the sanctions announced by Washington on March 24 against 328 members of the State Duma (lower house) of Russia, who, including lawmakers referred to in a previous blacklist, constitute practically all members of the State Duma. to express.

The local State Department noted that the new sanctions imposed by the US Congress, in addition to those previously shown in another list, complement the total of all lawmakers in that North American country that Moscow has sanctioned in a reciprocal system.

The text warned that “in light of the continued sanctions imposed by the United States, it is expected in the near future to announce further Russian countermeasures involving an increase in the number of people included in the exclusion list and other retaliatory measures.”

Russia began a military operation in Ukraine on February 24, after the authorities of the so-called Donetsk and Luhansk republics unilaterally requested help to repel the escalation of aggression and intense bombardment by Kyiv.

Previously, Moscow recognized the independence and sovereignty of both territories and signed treaties of friendship, cooperation and mutual assistance with its leaders, which included the establishment of diplomatic relations and military assistance.

Since the start of military action against Kyiv, the country has faced a large number of sanctions from the United States and other Western countries, targeting key sectors of the economy, trade and finance.

See also  Argentina praises those working to vaccinate against Covid-19 - Prensa Latina

It also included the expulsion of more than 300 Russian diplomats from different countries and the banning of senior officials, legislators and politicians from entering many of those countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.