G7 leaders will hold their first face-to-face meeting in the UK since the start of the pandemic

The leaders who make up the Group of Seven will meet next Friday, June 11, in the United Kingdom, the first face-to-face meeting since the pandemic began.

At the three-day summit in the coastal Corniche region, leaders of the world’s richest and most powerful countries are expected to discuss the COVID-19 pandemic, global geopolitical risks and climate change.

Likewise, it is very likely that British Prime Minister Boris Johnson will ask the G7 leaders to cooperate in ending the COVID-19 pandemic.

Over the weekend, Johnson said he would ask his counterparts to commit to vaccinating the world against COVID-19 by the end of next year.

“I invite my fellow G7 leaders to join us in ending this terrible pandemic and pledge that we will never allow the devastation caused by the coronavirus to happen again,” he stressed.

In addition, the UK aims to deliver a message of cooperation on greener solutions with the Cornwall region, which is seen as central to the UK’s green tech sector.

See also: G7 nations announce historic global tax of 15% on large companies

The summit agenda is also expected to include topics such as supporting free and fair trade and strengthening cybersecurity, a controversial issue in the wake of recent cyber attacks in the United States.

G7 finance ministers also agreed on Saturday a minimum global corporate tax of at least 15% for multinational companies in each country in which they do business.

The Group of Seven is an organization made up of the world’s seven largest advanced economies: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

See also  Changes with the Spanish driver's license in the UK

The G7 countries meet each year under the leadership of one country to assess the economic agenda, formulate common policies and enhance cooperation.

Among the leaders of countries invited to this year’s summit is Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison. South Korean President Moon Jae-in; South African President Cyril Ramaphosa; and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

* Juan Felipe VĂ©lez Rojas contributed to this note. .

Anadolu Agency website contains only part of the news stories presented to subscribers on the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *