Alex Morgan captains the US team

Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe are part of the US squad for the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, which kicks off July 20 and which will see the two American stars battle for the third world title of their soccer careers.

Rapinoe, who will turn 38 on July 5, and Alex Morgan, 33, were back-to-back champions at the 2015 and 2019 World Cups and top the roster announced Monday by the U.S. Soccer Federation. ) at its headquarters in Chicago (USA)

Rapinoe, Morgan and defender Kelly O’Hara will play Australia and New Zealand in the fourth World Cup in their careers, while goalkeeper Alyssa Naher and midfielder Julie Eerts will make their third World Cup appearances.

Coach Vlatko Andonovski has selected a group with excellent experience at the highest level, and nine out of the 23 called-ups have already played at the World Cup at least once.

Photo: USWNT

Alex Morgan and his fourth World Cup

For Alex Morgan, the tournament that is about to start will be his fourth World Cup and he will look to put in a great performance like the last World Cup where he scored 6 goals.

The USA is in Group E with the Netherlands, the 2019 finalists, Portugal and Vietnam, and they will play their group stage matches in New Zealand.

Photo: USWNT

“The challenge of choosing a team for the World Cup is never easy, but I am proud of the hard work and work ethic of the players. (…) The players are the most influential, they push themselves to be better, and I know that as a group they are very motivated to make our country proud at the World Cup, Andonofsky said in remarks made by the NFL.

See also  Mixed events, a sign of greater parity at the Olympics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *