UK and EU impose coordinated sanctions on Russia’s invasion of Ukraine

The United Kingdom announced, on Wednesday, that it is expanding, in coordination with the European Union, the list of sanctions imposed on the Russian invasion of Ukraine to include 178 pro-Russian separatists and more oligarchs close to Russian President Vladimir Putin.

He declared that “the British government, in coordination with the European Union, will impose sanctions on 178 people who support illegal separatist areas of Ukraine”, after “several reports last week that Russia is brutally attacking civilians in these areas”. Foreign in a statement.

The statement said that among those included in the sanctions were Alexander Ananchenko and Sergey Kozlov, who were described by London as the “leader” of the pro-Russian separatist republics of “Donetsk” and “Luhansk”.

“Following the horrific missile attacks on civilians in eastern Ukraine, we are today punishing those who support illegal separatist regions and are guilty of atrocities against the Ukrainian people,” British Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said.

The statement explained that the new sanctions affect a total of 206 people, including the separatists, but also “six oligarchs, relatives, employees and 22 other people.”

Boris Johnson’s CEO also announced his intention to introduce a text to Parliament on Thursday that “bans the import of steel products, as well as the export of quantitative technologies, advanced materials and luxury goods.”

The list of people sanctioned on Wednesday includes Vagit Alekperov, the number two in Russian oil giant Lukoil, and Vladimir Evtushnikov, owner of the Sistema group.

ode-acc / computer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.