North Hollywood High School wins the National Science Competition – Telemundo 52

A team of science students from North Hollywood High School on Saturday defeated academics from 63 other schools across the country in this year’s US Department of Energy’s National Science Championships.

This victory marked the second National Science Bowl Championship at North Hollywood High, after the title obtained in 2001. It placed the school in the top five teams 12 times in the national event.

Naperville North High School in the Chicago area came second. Among the top four teams were last year’s championship team, Dougherty Valley High School from San Ramon and East Side High School from Gainesville, Florida.

This was roughly the second year the National Science Bowl competition was held.

Students from four colleges in Ventura County completed their studies, and although the pandemic did not allow them the traditional celebration, the alumni and their families celebrated.

Regional competitions have also been held roughly this year. The members of the North Hollywood Science Bowl team are Captain Albert Chang, Lydia Chen, Theodore Dupont, Cheon Morakawa and Eric Yoon.

The coaches are Altair Maine and Lyn Solove.

This title marks the fifth time a LADWP regional championship team has won the National Science Bowl. It is also the fifteenth time the Los Angeles Regional Championship team has ranked first, despite fifth, in the show since 1993.

Last year, North Hollywood ranked first among the top four teams during the virtual finals, third in 2019 and second in 2018. To qualify for the national competition, the North Hollywood team won the 2021 LADWP Science Bowl Regional Competition in February, the school’s twenty-second regional title in the last 24 Year.

See also  Sciences. Are you interested in becoming an astronaut? The European Space Agency is hiring

“Science Bowl is a proud tradition of LADWP and an example of the department’s commitment to the Los Angeles educational community,” said LADWP Education Outreach Director Walter Zeisl.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *