Nine candidates start battle to replace Boris Johnson

Following the resignation of Boris Johnson last Thursday, 7 July, the competition to replace the British Prime Minister accelerated when five other members of the Conservative Party expressed their intention to run as candidates.

Among the most prominent promises to cut taxes and put aside Johnson’s scandal-ridden leadership.

We recommend the following: Boris Johnson resigns as UK Prime Minister

Johnson had announced he would resign as prime minister after MPs and his cabinet colleagues revolted over his handling of a series of scandals, including violating confinement rules at meetings in his Downing Street office.

The result will be announced until September

A member of the Conservative Party committee that sets the rules for Sunday’s leadership election said the final result would be announced in September.

Commerce Secretary Penny Mordaunt on Sunday formally announced her candidacy to join Transportation Secretary Grant Shapps. Finance Minister Nadim Zahawi and former ministers Jeremy Hunt and Sajid Javid, who announced their nominations in time to appear in the Sunday papers, bring the total of contenders to nine.

“This is a critical turning point for our country,” Mordaunt said in a statement. “I believe a socialist or socialist-led coalition government at the next election would be a disaster for the United Kingdom.” “We must win the next election.”

The Conservative Party’s 1922 Committee of Legislators, which sets the party’s rules in Parliament, will determine the exact timetable after Monday’s meeting.

Bob Blackman, a member of the 1922 Executive Committee, said the nominations would expire on Tuesday evening, followed by a process to narrow the nominees down to the lowest two by July 21.

See also  Amazon is closing more than 70 stores in the US and UK and is betting on new business

Party members will elect a new leader over the summer to become prime minister.

“On July 21 we will choose the last two candidates, so that party members have enough time to hold the voting sessions and vote by mail to elect a new leader on September 5,” he told Sky News.

➡️ Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the most relevant feedback in your email

Entering the race, Shapps, Zahawi, Hunt and Judd promised tax cuts, setting them against current leader former Finance Minister Rishi Sunak, whose budget last year put Britain on track for the biggest tax pressure since the 1950s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.