European Union imposes sanctions on China for human rights violations against Uyghurs | The world | DW

As a result, four regional and two party representatives, as well as an organization from China’s Xinjiang Province, have been included in the EU sanctions list. Their names will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union on Monday (03.22.2021).

According to human rights organizations, there are at least a million Uighurs and other Muslims imprisoned in hundreds of detention camps in Xinjiang. There, Uyghurs are forced to abandon their religion, culture, and language, and in some cases, they are also subjected to abuse. Beijing rejects the accusations and speaks of training and employment programs aimed at combating extremism in the regions.

Protests against human rights violations against the Uighur minority in China.

These are the first sanctions against China for human rights violations since the suppression of protests in Beijing’s Tiananmen Square in 1989. Since then, an arms embargo has been imposed. In July last year, the European Union imposed sanctions for cyber attacks. Two Chinese citizens and a Chinese company were affected.

The European Union uses a legal sanctions framework adopted in December that aims to better punish human rights violations around the world. According to information from European Union circles, about 12 people and various organizations from six countries were affected by the decision on Monday. In addition to China, human rights violations are being committed in Eritrea, Libya, North Korea, Russia and South Sudan.

The sanctions impose an entry ban on those responsible for human rights violations and freeze their potential assets in the European Union. Organizations or companies have also blocked funds and are forbidden to deal with.

See also  Cuban Prime Minister congratulates the tour guides on their day

For the first time, the European Union used its new human rights sanctions in early March, in the case of detained Russian opposition activist Alexei Navalny. Four senior representatives of the police and the Russian judiciary are included in the European Union sanctions list.

CP (dpa, afp)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.