Today the jury decides on the Princess of Asturias Prize for Social Sciences

Oviedo, May 15 (EFE). – The jury of the Princess of Asturias Prize for Social Sciences will announce this Wednesday in Oviedo the winner of this award, for which this year thirty-six candidates from seventeen nationalities, including prominent ones, are competing for it. Historians, economists and philosophers.

The court, headed by Cuban-American demographer Alejandro Portes, who received this same award in 2019, began its deliberations yesterday, while maintaining traditional secrecy about the names of the nominees, and will announce the ruling this afternoon.

The Princess of Asturias Prize for Social Sciences aims to recognize “creative and/or research works in anthropology, political science, demography, law, economics, ethics, philosophy, geography, history, linguistics, education, psychology, and sociology, as well as the corresponding disciplines of each of these fields.”

Last year, it fell to the French historian Hélène Carrière Dancos, one of the leading specialists in Russian history, who died on August 5 at the age of 94, making her son Emmanuel Carrière, winner of the Princess of Las Letras 2021 award, the person responsible for receiving the award. .

In recent sessions, this award has distinguished the figures of the Mexican archaeologist and anthropologist Eduardo Matos Moctezuma (2022), the Indian economist Amartya Sen (2021), the Turkish economist Dani Rodrik (2020), and the Cuban-American sociologist and demographer Alejandro. Portes (2019), American philosopher Michael J. Sandel (2018), and British scholar and scholar Karen Armstrong (2017)

The Social Sciences Prize will be the fourth of eight prizes annually declared unsuccessful by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, which this year reaches its 44th edition, after the Arts Prize was previously awarded to the Catalan singer and songwriter Joan Manuel Serrat. The Communication and Humanities Award went to French-Iranian cartoonist, director and illustrator Marjane Satrapi, and the Sports Award went to badminton player Carolina Marin.

See also  The conclusion of the seventh edition of the Science Clubs 2023 with the participation of 138 young people from 10 municipalities - Zacatecas State Government

Therefore, the Literature Awards will be decided on May 23; International Cooperation, 29; Scientific and Technical Research on 5 June, and finally Concordia on 12 June. Evie


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *