The German Finance Minister advised companies not to pay for gas in rubles

Berlin, March 25 (Sputnik). – German Finance Minister Christian Lindner recommended German companies not to accept Russia’s requirement that gas payments be made in rubles.

“These are the private operators, the energy providers, who are paying and they have to make a decision, but we must not – and this is my advice – give in to Putin’s terms,” ​​Lindner told N24.

According to the minister, Moscow’s decision to collect payments in rubles stems from “an attempt to improve its economic situation”, but “all contracts were agreed in euros and dollars.”

However, he added, Germany should now not abandon gas contracts with Russia unilaterally.

“I don’t think that’s a procedure we need right now,” Lindner said.

Russian President Vladimir Putin said on Wednesday that Russia will continue to supply natural gas to countries with aggressive behavior in the amounts and at prices specified in contracts, but will start charging fees for those transactions in rubles.

The president gave the central bank and the government a week to organize the new procedure.

Several countries condemned the military operation launched by Russia in Ukraine on February 24, and triggered several batteries of individual and sectoral sanctions that seek to inflict as much damage as possible on the Russian economy.

According to the Castellum.AI database, Russia is now the country hardest hit by the sanctions, ahead of Iran, Syria and North Korea. Since mid-February, more than 4,350 new restrictive measures have been activated in relation to Russia, in addition to more than 2,750 already in force.

See also  Radiography of the Russian economy: geopolitical power but not GDP

For its part, the Russian government has added dozens of new names to the list of “unfriendly countries” that include in particular Australia, Canada, Japan, Montenegro, Norway, New Zealand, South Korea, the United Kingdom and the United States. . , Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan (China), the 27 member states of the European Union and Ukraine. (Sputnik)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *