The European Basketball Tournament XI FIMBA Maxi gathers 2,700 players in Malaga

On Friday, June 24 through July 3, Málaga, Fuengirola and Cartama will be the venues for the 11th FIMBA European Maxibasket Championship.a competition that will bring together more than 2,700 international athletes who will represent them with their companions 5000 visits to the county. Diputación de Málaga is promoting this event in cooperation with the municipalities of Málaga, Cartama and Fuengirola.

This was announced before Diputación Sports Director, Borja Vivas, with Malaga City Council Sports Director, Juan Ruiz; Daniel Herzuelo, referee CBA The Euroleague. and Manel Casas, president of the We Keep Playing Foundation. Vivas has highlighted the Regional Council’s commitment to turning Málaga County into the basketball standard this summer through its own activities such as the Provincial 3×3 Circuit and Summer Campus, or major events such as FIMBA, the Caixabank Plaza 3X3 Basketball Arena, King’s Cup for Wheelchair Basketball or CIBA International Basketball or U-17 World Cup.

Vivas explained that maxibasket is a veterans basketball game designed, organized and developed for athletes over 30 years old in the female category and 35 in the male category.

Although FIMBA was born as a European Championship, This year it will be “open” because participation is open to non-European teams Who, in the second stage, will compete in the “Rest of the World” rating. More than 180 international teams will participate in the event, including five from Malaga: three from the capital and two from the province. The total number of men’s teams is 122, the most participating category is those over 60, with a total of 23. The total number of women’s teams is 58, the category with the most entries is F50 with a total of 15 European countries that will be represented: Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic , Spain, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia. Switzerland, UK and Ukraine. There will also be 14 non-European countries: Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, USA and Venezuela.

See also  Photographer Alberto Orego dies - cycling - sport

Matches will be played in Ciudad Deportiva Javier Imbroda and in the suites of Ciudad Jardín, Los Guindos, Los Olivos and Tiro Pichón in Málaga; In the Sports City of Cartama, at the Elola Sports Center and at the El Higuerón Training Center in Fuengirola.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *