Spain joins ban on flights from South Africa and Botswana | Economie

Spain Flights to South Africa and Botswana will be suspended from Tuesday due to concerns about the high rate of transmission of the new variant of Covid-19, thus after seven other countries in the European Union and the United Kingdom had already banned travelers from several African countries, TVE noted. Friday.

The decision comes shortly after European Commission He announced that the bloc countries were considering a coordinated action to ban flights to or from the southern African region as an emergency measure to prevent the spread of a new species. B discovered in South Africa that are concerned about their ability to mutate, after several European governments made this decision separately.

“The Commission, in close coordination with Member States, will propose to activate the emergency brake to halt air travel from South Africa due to concern variant B.1.1.529,” the Community Executive Chair wrote in her Twitter profile.

Von der Leyen’s reaction comes after more and more countries joined the ban on entry for travelers from South African countries.

And the first countries to announce restrictions last night were on United kingdom NS Israel, which banned entry to travelers from seven countries in southern Africa – South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini. The British government acted very quickly and the London Executive Council banned air services from the above-mentioned African countries from 12.00 GMT.

After a brief period, Germany NS Italy They also announced restrictions. Germany has declared South Africa a danger zone and as of tonight will only allow German citizens to enter the country from that zone. For his part, the Italian Minister of Health, Roberto Speranza, signed the decree banning entry to citizens who have passed through South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana and Zimbabwe. Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini (formerly Swaziland).

See also  UN launches campaign to help Philippines after typhoon

Later, they joined Holland And Austria. The Dutch government decided on Friday to suspend all flights from South African countries as a precaution. Starting at 12 noon (11.00 GMT), South African countries will also be classified as “Very High Risk Areas” for coronavirus, meaning a “quarantine commitment” and two tests will be offered for travelers from these countries.

For its part, the Austrian government announced, on Friday, the closure of its borders to travelers arriving by plane from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini (formerly Swaziland).

The chain reactions occur after South Africa confirmed on Thursday the discovery of a new type of coronavirus, identified as B.1.1.529, which has multiple mutations and which has raised “concern” among specialists, although its effect still needs to be studied. . .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *