Formula 1: Max Verstappen was crowned world champion three times

The abandonment of Mexican Sergio “Chico” Perez due to an incident with Esteban Ocon helped his teammate.

With six Grand Prix races remaining, including Sunday’s race in Qatar, the Dutch driver Max Verstappen Red Bull has been declared the king of the Formula 1 World Drivers’ Championship, thus obtaining His third title in a row. This historic achievement came after a driver was crowned, for the first time in the history of the major circus, on a Saturday night.

This milestone was reached after Guadalajara Sergio “Chico” Perez He abandoned the Sprint race due to an incident with Esteban Ocon and Nico Hulkenberg, which He helped the Dutchman win the tournament three times.

With this win, Verstappen joins a select list of three-time world champions that includes Jack Brabham, Jackie Stewart, Niki Lauda, ​​Nelson Piquet and Ayrton Senna.

Verstappen will race in the Grand Prix of Qatar, the United States, Mexico City, Brazil, Las Vegas and Abu Dhabi as the new champion. He is aiming to set records and score more points, despite the fact that he is already king and Red Bull has won the world constructors’ title, a feat achieved just two weeks ago in Japan.

The “Sprint” race, which turned out to be a procedure for Verstappen, was won by Oscar Piastri, who added eight units. The podium was completed by Lando Norris, also from McLaren, achieving 1-3 for the British team, which led to an improvement in his performance in recent races.

Saturday’s race was bumpy from the start, with several pit stops. Including Leanne Lawson, Logan Sargeant, Sergio Perez, Esteban Ocon and Nico Hulkenberg, causing multiple safety car interventions.

See also  CONMEBOL has announced the full schedule for the 2024 Copa America in the United States: host cities, stadiums and everything you need to know.

Opposite Sunday’s race at Losail CircuitMax Verstappen, who will start from pole position, will seek to reaffirm his title three times in a test that is expected to be just a formality and a celebration for the Dutchman.

For his part, “Chico” Perez, who will start from 13th on the grid, will seek to improve his performance after a difficult Saturday, which reflects the erratic performance he has shown in recent participations in the league. F1.

Sprint points in the Qatari Grand Prix

  1. Oscar Piastri / McLaren / 8 points
  2. Max Verstappen / Red Bull / 7 points
  3. Lando Norris / McLaren / 6 points
  4. George Russell / Mercedes / 5 points
  5. Lewis Hamilton / Mercedes / 4 points
  6. Carlos Sainz / Ferrari / 3 points
  7. Charles Leclerc / Ferrari / 2 points
  8. Alex Albon / Williams / 1 point

This is what the table goes

  1. Max Verstappen / Red Bull / 407 points*
  2. Sergio Perez / Red Bull / 223 points
  3. Lewis Hamilton / Mercedes / 194 points
  4. Fernando Alonso / Aston Martin / 174 points

*World Champion

When did Verstappen win his titles?

December 12, 2021 in Abu Dhabi
October 9, 2022 in Japan
October 7, 2023 in Qatar

Three world champions

Jack Brabham / 1959, 1960, 1666
Jackie Stewart / 1969, 1971, 1973
Niki Lauda / 1975, 1977, 1984
Nelson Piquet / 1981, 1983, 1987
Ayrton Senna / 1988, 1990, 1991
Max Verstappen / 2021, 2022, 2023


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *