Radio Havana Cuba | United Nations: Five new non-permanent members of the Security Council take office

NEW YORK, Jan 1 (RHC) Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, the United Arab Emirates and Albania took up their positions on Saturday as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for two years.

In June of last year, these countries were elected by the General Assembly for the 2022-2023 session, thus replacing Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam.

As of January 1, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, the United Arab Emirates, and Albania held their positions as non-permanent members of the Council along with India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway.

According to Prinsa Latina, Albania will for the first time get a seat on the council, after going through various political and ethnic struggles.

The United Nations body responsible for ensuring international security is made up of five permanent members: Russia, China, the United States, the United Kingdom and France, who have veto power to approve or disapprove resolutions.

The remaining ten seats are non-permanent, and are elected by the United Nations General Assembly for two consecutive years. The shares of these positions are distributed according to regional standards.

Currently, most UN member states agree that the composition of the Security Council is not representative and does not reflect the changing global reality.

But the reform of the Council – which is of great importance to the multilateral organization – has been on hold for a long time, although talks on this topic began about 20 years ago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *